h1

MIA – And now back for a triumphant return.

July 2, 2008

Hello dear readers,

So in the last two months I’ve had some major life events take place. Namely, I graduated from college and got my first real job. Graduating from college was an achievement in itself. I finished my last essay at 4PM the day before commencement. My last paper was:

“A Coal Mine Comparative: Trends seen between the Russian and Chinese Coal Industry in the face of contemporary economic reform”

So that kept me busy, quite literally, until the very second. But I feel like I learned a lot, and I guess the college experience isn’t worth it until you can fondly recall the late nights you poured your blood sweat and tears into long winded uppity essays that no one will ever read. I know I poured my sweat and tears in to this last semester… looks like I’ll have to save the blood for grad school.

Alas, the only people who have read my two insanely long papers are Nic, and the two professors who assigned them. Even my parents *cough* set them down once they got a few pages in. On an happier note, my “thesis” was really well recieved and my professor suggested that I get it published… That felt awesome, especially since I’ve never considered myself scholarly material.

So all in all, transition has been fun, and while I’m not moving to greener pastures (I’m staying in wonderful Ann Arbor rather than moving to Seattle, NYC, or Chicago)… I’m still insanely awesomely excited about the road ahead.

Now – the job! (que dramatic music). I had absolutely no idea what to do with myself upon graduation. I had sent out resumes, and gotten pretty far with one particular job prospect, but in the end everything fell through and I was left jobless, a helpless quivering mass in the corner of my dark room. All that was left of me was a pitiful shadow, left to defend myself from the various insults catipulting in my direction by all the naysayers who *cough* believed that this was my just dessert for majoring in something as useless as the Liberal Arts…. ah, going home sure is fun.

Luckily, before leaving my happier surroundings in Ann Arbor, I was drinking a french press coffee with a cute boy at Zingerman’s, when the Ari walked in. I was a nervous wreck, so Nic basically shoved me out of my chair so that I would go talk to Ari about a possible job. Thankfully, I had my cartoon resume on hand. So I gracefully shoved my resume into his hands in stammered, “Hi, I’m Katie, I’m just hoping that you might have a job for someone who is creative and loves food.” I got a call back, an interview, a trial shift, and a job.

So now I’m here to stay in Ann Arbor, at least for a while. I have what I consider to be one of the best jobs in the world, at a company that’s been ranked “the coolest small business in America,” and “America’s most democratic workplace.” I mean, come now, that’s pretty sweet.

So while I may not be cozying up to my plush new apartment in a sexy metropolitan area, or viewing the skyline from my office with a view at a posh magazine publisher… I think I’ve got it pretty well made.

AND!!!

I have a place to stay for next year. I’m moving into a house with a couple of School of Dentistry Grad students. The house is a vintage cottage-ey house in Ann Arbor’s old west historic district. My room is dinky, but cheap, and the rest of the house is awesome. A far cry from the roach infested crack den where I currently live. Perhaps I enjoy hyperbole a little too much, but in all seriousness, I’m more than ready to move out of my college house. Most importantly, my new house has an awesome kitchen. With new appliances, new white cabinets, an exposed brick wall (sexy, no?), polished wood floors, and a GAS OVEN!!! HOT DAMN!

I’m just a little bit excited. The kitchen looks much better in person. And my new roomates seem really chill and fun. So far they don’t seem to mind if I bring my snotty/pretty kitchen things into the house. Which brings me to another subject altogether.

When I was talking to them I said that I would find the kitchen table/chairs that the house was lacking. So I managed to find a solid cherry table on Craigslist that was reasonably priced considering the major reworking it needs.

Did I mention that its a little bit of a fixer upper? The set in its entirety needs to be completely cleaned, the top of the table needs to be completely stripped and re-varnished. One of the chairs needs to be reworked, and practically all of the chairs need some gorilla-glue rehab due to their loose joints. And once all of that is completed, I need to re-upholster all of the chairs. I’m looking forward to the reapholstering the most. And come to think of it, if I manage to pull this off this could turn out to be a really awesome set of furniture that I’ll treasure for years to come. *the woman who sold it to me said that it had been in her family for years and that it was one of the only peices of furniture her great aunt was able to save through the great depression. For all I know, she could have been completely yanking my chain, but if its true, this table is pretty much all around awesome.

I’ve already been looking at a bunch of fabric options for the reupholstery business.  Most are from Ikea, and are cheap crappy cotton that will hold up for a few years.  The rest are nicer fabrics from a design-ey apholsetry website, here are the options I’m considering.  Let me know where your vote is.

I’m pretty excited about this project, so if anyone has an furniture renovating advice I’d love to hear it.

Happily yours, Sweatergirl

One comment

  1. don’t put bugs in the oven.



Leave a Reply

