h1

No Knead Bread

March 19, 2008

Okay, I’m only a year behind the trend. But seeing that no-knead bread is sweeping the blogosphere, this is a bandwagon I’m happy to jump on.

IMG_4036

IMG_4037

IMG_4039

IMG_4040

All together now: Oooh pretty!

Here’s the original recipe / Video of Marc Bittman from the New York Times learning how to make this bread at the Sullivan Street Bakery in Manhattan:

My only beef with this bread was that it was a bit too bland. Next time I make it I’m going to try the Cooks Illustrated version which calls for slightly higher salt and lager to boost the flavor. I think I’ll also try rolling the bread in sesame seeds to get that nice semolina-ishness.

Nic and I also made Guinness beef stew last night with the Cooks Illustrated: Best International Cookbook. It was very delicious, robust, and perhaps laced with testosterone. No cream of mushroom needed! But I umm, forgot to take pictures. Whoops.

Leave a Reply

