h1

Cooking Indian food with my Sous Chef

March 5, 2008

Last night Nic and I made Indian food! Using my AMAZING international cookbook from America’s Test Kitchen we managed to make some pretty delicious Chicken Tikka Masala accompanying some homemade Naan – delicious! Here is the Chicken Tikka Masala simmering in my flamed orange Crueset, one of my favorite pretty kitchen things.
IMG_3979
So maybe Indian food isn’t the prettiest, I however, think its heavenly. Naan is traditionally cooked in a stone tandoori oven. Seeing as I don’t have a tandoori oven readily available, my cookbook suggested that I use a super hot cast iron skillet on my stove top. It seemed to do the trick nicely.
IMG_3981
The dough is a simple combination of flour, yeast, water, olive oil, sugar, and yogurt. I kneaded it in my kitchen-aid and let it rise while I was at class. Then you punch it and separate it into 8 balls and let them rest. Once you are ready to make them you roll them into 6″ circles, stretch out a bit, and throw them onto the super hot skillet.
IMG_3976
Note the cute boy and the nasty college kitchen in the background – its a dichotomy of juxtapositions.
IMG_3978

IMG_3977

Et Voila!
IMG_3984
After dinner was ready we enjoyed our favorite pastime of making fun of the “chef personalities” on Food Network – Namely Rachel Ray. Her stoup and sammies can’t touch this.

I have a ton of cilantro to use up – stay tuned for Thai food!

Ciao, Sweatergirl

One comment

  1. Wow, that looks delicious. Come cook for me.



Leave a Reply

